Plurality

hello

Trey’s comments got me thinking about teams whose names don’t end in ‘s’ and reminded me of a game I used to play in college. The game was pretty simple actually, it included me trying to think of all the colleges that had nicknames not ending in ‘s.’ My charge to you, few readers, is to add more to this list. I know there are more but after spending about thirty minutes trying, this is the best I could do.

In no particular order:

Notre Dame Fighting Irish
Alabama Crimson Tide
NC State Wolfpack
Nevada Wolfpack
William and Mary Tribe
Syracuse Orange
Illinois Fighting Illini
St. John’s Red Storm
Stanford Cardinal
Cornell Big Red
Dartmouth Big Green
Harvard Crimson
Tulane Green Wave
Elon Phoenix
Navy Midshipmen
Hofstra Pride
Tulsa Golden Hurricane
Massachusetts Minutemen
Howard Bison
Bucknell Bison

5 Responses to Plurality

  1. bwright08 says:

    Presbyterian College Blue Hose

  2. mao says:

    Yeah, that’s a great one, I can’t believe I didn’t think of it. Especially because like four kids we covered in high school baseball this year are headed there to play ball.

  3. Trey says:

    North Texas Mean Green.

    Actually, back when I played trivia they asked a question, what the four division 1 college teams that have a nickname that doesn’t end in s, isn’t an animal, and isn’t a color. Think about that fellas, cause I made bank on that question in trivia.

  4. mao says:

    Three are on this list (assuming Phoenix counts as an animal, even though it’s mythical): Fighting Irish, Minutemen and Midshipmen. Hofstra used to be the Dutchmen, but are now the Pride. I have no idea what the other one might be.

  5. mao says:

    Actually, four are on the list. Fighting Illini.

Leave a Reply

