College Basketball Started?

Somehow, the college basketball season is officially underway as of last night’s 2k Sports Classicin Durham. Duke defeated Presbyterian in the more important of the two games last night (Georgia Southern knocked off Houston in the other) to improve to 1-0 on November 10! November 10 and teams have already actually started playing? Seems pretty outrageous to me. Though I suppose it’s pretty reasonable to start off the season at Cameron Indoor.

I don’t want to spend too much time dissecting Duke games since a) I hate them and b) Trey will be doing plenty of that upon return from hiatus next month.

But since it has begun, here are my predictions for some of the major conferences. The guesses on my part will be in reference to the regular season titles, not conference tournaments. I know I’m not really stepping out on a limb but I feel like most of them are really solid picks.

ACC – North Carolina
Big East – Connecticut
Big 10 – Michigan State
Big 12 – Oklahoma
Conference USA – Memphis
PAC 10 – UCLA
SEC – Florida

Let me know if you disagree.

7 Responses to College Basketball Started?

  1. Ryan says:

    I’d go with Tennessee instead, but Florida is solid as well.

    State and Purdue will battle it out and both could conceivably go 15-3 ish since the Big Ten is rather weak, again.

  2. mao says:

    I felt like I couldn’t go completely with the chalk so I took Florida instead. Plus I really don’t like Tennessee. I’ve seen Purdue ranked as high as 6th in some polls, and I just can’t believe that. It’s like the Big Dog redux. But it’s tough to go against Michigan State, Izzo is a beast.

    As an aside, we added you guys to our blog list. I hope we can get some good dialog as the season really gets going. There’s not a lot of basketball talk here in Columbia so I need to rely on my e-contacts to get me through the season.

  3. Ryan says:

    Consider yourself added.

    I’m a Michigander, trust me, Izzo is overrated

  4. mao says:

    Haha, maize and blue?

  5. Ryan says:

    actually a Grizzly from Oakland, but UofM is in my future I hope

  6. mao says:

    Ah, nice. I’ve always been a fan of UofM, at least since the Fab Five.

    You’ll find a particular bias toward the ACC on this blog though, as I was born in Charlottesville to UVA alumni and then spent my teens in the Durham/Chapel Hill area. There will also be Dook bashing.

  7. Ryan says:

    I also duke bash on my site, though I haven’t done so in a week or two…

Leave a Reply

